Year in Review, 2018

Take a look at what we did in 2018!

The popular and frequently visited Legends of Scuba Diving exhibition in partnership with the Department of Tourism was up until November 2018. Highlighted in the exhibition were international inductees and local honourees to the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame.

The “Charles “Captain Chuckie” Ebanks – Shaped by the Sea” Exhibition in the Special Tribute gallery is up until May 2019.

In November 2018, we opened a new exhibition in partnership with Cayman Airways - celebrating 50 years of our National Airline.

Our Oxford Expedition Exhibition was taken down in December 2018 to make room for an exhibition in partnership with Celebrate Cayman - celebrating 60 years of Cayman's Coat of Arms.

In May 2018, we opened the 80th Anniversary of the 1938 Oxford Expedition to the Cayman Islands which was up until December 2018.

Tours at the National Museum (schools & special guests)

The National Museum welcomed hundreds of visitors to the Museum throughout 2018 – with over 40 guided tours, which included schools and other special guests.

2018 Museum Memberships

Almost 400 Members including 5 Corporate Members

Radio Cayman’s ‘Talk Today’ Segment Sterling Dwayne Ebanks along with Wray Banker

Topic for January 2018: “Caymanian Games & Pastimes”

Topic for February 2018: “Schooner ‘The Goldfield’’’

Topic for March 2018: “WWII US Naval Base Part 1”

Topic for May 2018: “WWII US Naval Base Part 2”

Topic for July 2018: “Texas Caymanians: Port Arthur”

Topic for August 2018: “Patterson – Farm Soldier”

Topic for September 2018: “Breadfruit”

Topic for December 2018: “Decemba”

On 23 January, the National Museum kicked off the new year with a Speaker Series lecture by Craig Merren (former Olympian), who spoke on his cycling career and the history of cycling in the Cayman Islands.

The National Museum launched a new educational programme (Yo Turn!) where visitors learned about the different traditional games in Cayman. Mr. Deal Ebanks  demonstrated how to spin gigs, play marbles, and other interactive games for attendees.

Brian Watler Jr. and Shenice McField attended the John Gray High School career fair – sharing with students the many career options at the National Museum. Students enjoyed the interactive booth that featured a ‘What’s in the Box?’ session and a question and answer segment. Look out for the National Museum at this year’s Career Fair at John Gray High School.

The National Museum’s Brian Watler Jr. and Shenice McField attended the well enjoyed Coco Fest at Pedro St. James Historic site where kids were taught to make and sail coconut husk boats and complete activity sheets.

The National Museum had a booth at Red Sky at Night – selling locally crafted items, flags and other souvenirs. Check out the Museum booth again this year at Red Sky at Night!

On March 6, Stephen Broadbelt presented a lecture “Small Island, Big Business: Recreational Scuba Diving in the Cayman Islands.” The event was well attended and held in the Museum Audiovisual theatre.

On March 26, The Cayman Islands National Museum invited Ms Rose Myles to demonstrate how to make Peppermint candies. Students from Wesleyan Christian Academy, the Department of Tourism, as well as visitors to our National Museum watched as this fascinating art took place in the Museum Courtyard.

The National Museum replaced its staircase to make it safer for visitors. A special thank you to the workers of Public Works who assisted us with this project.

Have you seen our van?! The National Museum purchased a new van that was wrapped to showcase the National Museum’s vibrant brand.

The National Museum in partnership with Celebrate Cayman displayed a travelling exhibition at the Foreign & Commonwealth Office, in celebration of the 60th Anniversary of the Cayman Islands Coat of Arms. This exhibition has travelled to every district in Grand Cayman, as well as Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. The exhibition is on its final leg in West Bay.

On Thursday, 17th May 2018, Members and invited guests attended the Preview of our newest exhibition on the 80th Anniversary of the 1938 Oxford University Biological Expedition to the Cayman Islands. Guest curators were Christine Rose-Smyth & Ann Stafford who worked with the Museum team. Partners included Department of Environment, National Trust and the National Archive.

In celebration of International Museum Day and the opening of the OxEx80 Exhibition, we hosted a big celebration on Friday, 18th May 2018. A special thank you to the artisans and vendors that took part in this special event. In recognition of Child's Month, we had children’s activities and showed "A Bug's Life" for the various classes of Bodden Town Primary and other children that attended.

The National Museum hosted a special event for attendees of the Assessment of current and future Invasive Alien Species in Caribbean Overseas Territories. Attendees were visiting from the Caribbean and various places around the world and enjoyed the Oxford University Biological Expedition exhibition.

On Saturday 9 June 2018, the National Museum opened a new exhibition at the Old George Town Library – celebrating the life of Ms. Olive Miller. Ms Olive Miller, who received the OBE, was one of three Cayman residents who were recognized in the U.K.’s New Year’s Honors List. Betty Baraud and Dr. Bill Hrudey also received MBEs, and are featured in this exhibition.

On Saturday, 23rd June 2018, we joined in on celebrating the Cayman Islands Coat of Arms at the Celebrate Cayman Summer Festival by opening the National Museum to the public free of charge! During the festivities, we welcomed over 300 guests to the National Museum!

Each year, we conduct our annual Hurricane Exercise to keep staff members refreshed on our Emergency Plan. We successfully completed this exercise and aim to be well prepared each hurricane season.

On Saturday, 14th July 2018, we successfully hosted our third annual Looky Ya! Mango Season at the Museum event with over 200 guests! We offered free admission to the public, visitors enjoyed local food and mango products, live entertainment, bungee jumping, a Mango Peeling Competition and so much more!

From 16th-20th July, campers enjoyed a week-long study of Cayman's natural history. They visited the National Museum, Cayman Crystal Caves, Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park, Mr Willie's Farm, the Mastic Trail, Stingray City, and also kayaked in the mangroves! They learned about the importance of protecting our unique natural environment in Cayman.

Museum PR & Media/Design Specialist – Mr. Brian Watler Jr. started teaching the students at Edna M. Moyle Primary School the traditional dance of the Cayman Islands. Students performed at the National Children’s Festival of the Arts (“NCFA”) where they won a Gold award for their spectacular performance. Check out the dancers at Red Sky at Night and other Museum events this year!

The National Museum in partnership with the Department of Children and Family services (“DCFS”) invited all Seniors to a celebration for the Older Persons in our beloved Cayman Islands! Guests took a trip down memory lane through District Booth displays, enjoyed live music, local food and more!

Have you seen the wall hanging depicting 500 years of Cayman history in our stairwell? The ladies of the Cayman Quilters of Grand Cayman made this masterpiece and donated it to the National Museum.

The National Museum in partnership with the Pirates Week Office, hosted a special Pirates Week VIP event on the Museum balcony – with special guests including the Deputy Governor Franz Manderson, His Excellency the Governor Martyn Roper and his wife.

Celebrations of Cayman Airways Ltd. 50th anniversary continued, with the launch of a new exhibit at the National Museum. Several special guests were on hand to cut the ribbon to officially open the exhibit including HE the Governor, Martyn Roper; the Deputy Premier, Hon. Moses Kirkconnell, CAL President & CEO Fabian Whorms, CAL CFO Paul Tibbetts, Minister of Culture Hon. Dwayne Seymour, Councillors Capt. Eugene Ebanks and David White.

Our new exhibition in partnership with Cayman Airways officially opened to the public at our annual Looky Ya! event. Thank you to our Traditional Artisans, Artists, Food vendors, Staff and all who joined in on the celebration.

Our Coat of Arms exhibition in partnership with Celebrate Cayman opened to the public on Saturday, 15 Dec. 2018 at our Christmas Looky Ya! from 10am to 2pm. Guests joined in on the festivities – with traditional vendors, local food and more!

Consultants from Wilderness Graphics assisted in upgrading permanent exhibitions– including our Audiovisual Theatre, Submarine diorama, Mr. Harvey (animatronic) and Courtroom vignettes. Stay tuned for more upgrades – including the addition of more animatronics!

In celebration of its 35th Anniversary, Water Authority pledged a large donation to sponsor an animatronic figure of Ms. Annie Huldah Bodden that will be displayed in our Courtroom diorama. Stay tuned for more information on this exciting addition.

The Ministry of Health, Environment, Culture & Housing assisted the National Museum with the acquisition of a Special Collection – stay tuned for more information in 2019.

3 Harbour Drive, George Town

P.O. Box 2189 GT Cayman Islands, KY1-1105 

Tel: 345-949-8368  Email: info@museum.ky

  • facebook
  • insta

CINM is supported by an annual grant from the Cayman Islands Government, through Admissions & Gift Shop sales, and by Memberships.

Screen-Shot-2019-05-23-at-1.33.04-PM.png

Home

Visiting

What's On

© 2019 Cayman Islands National Museum. All rights reserved.